Our Chapter

Responsive image

The Alumni Chapter of Smithfield (NC) of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc was chartered by eight distinguished men of honorable achievement.

On the 26th Day of March in the year 1966 brother (s): James Barbour Sr.; Reginald Ennis; Romie Grantham; Norvel Lee; Vernon Nixon; Elias Sanders; Matthew Sanders; and John Windley became “One Kappa” and united their “Bond” among each other to organize and charter the alumni chapter of Smithfield (NC).

Our Charter Members

James Barbour Sr.

Initiation Date: 2/18/1959 
Alpha Nu N.C. A&T State University

Reginald Ennis

Initiation Date: 5/31/1941 
Alpha Kappa  North Carolina Central University

Romie Grantham

Initiation Date: 5/12/1955 
Delta Gamma Shaw University 

Norvel Lee

Initiation Date: 4/28/1956 
Gamma Omicron St. Augustine University

Vernon Nixon

Initiation Date: 4/30/1960 
Alpha Kappa North Carolina Central University

Elias Sanders

Initiation Date: 4/21/1956 
Delta Gamma Shaw University

Matthew Sanders

Initiation Date: 4/21/1956
Delta Gamma Shaw University

John Windley

Initiation Date: 11/17/1954
Alpha Nu N.C. A&T State University



Our Leadership

Polemarch - Bobby Alston

Vice Polemarch - Calvin Reaves

Keeper of Records - W. Russell R Robinson

Keeper of Exchequer - Fabian Stone

Strategus - Marquis Poteat

Lt. Strategus - Derek Mobley

Historian - Calvin Reaves

Reporter - Dennis Durant

MTA Chairmen - Jerome Kiaku

Board of Directors

(includes: Polemarch, Vice Polemarch, Keeper of Record, Keeper of Exchequer); And

Andre Smith - Board Member
Dennis Durant - Board Member
Demetrius Harvey - Board Member (Past - Polemarch)

The Middle Eastern Province

In 1921, the Fraternity was divided into districts as a result of proposed legislation by George F. David II, the third Grand Polemarch and the third appointed Middle Eastern Province Polemarch (1929). David was first Grand Polemarch who had not been nurtured by the Alpha Chapter under the influence of the Founders. David’s election was crucial. His administration would, in part, reflect the thoroughness with which the Fraternity’s ideals had been transmitted.

The Fraternity was originally divided into three sections (later to be known as districts) under the leadership of Past Grand Polemarch Irven Armstrong, Harrison R. Duke and Harold M. Tyler. In 1926, Grand Chapter converted from eight districts to eight provinces. And during the original establishment of provinces, the following provinces where established: Eastern, Middle Eastern, Central, Great Lakes, Northwestern, Western, Southern, and Southeastern Provinces.

This establishment accounts for the first record of the Middle Eastern Province, according to "The Story of Kappa Alpha Psi", as Grand Polemarch Dickerson appointed T. Gillis Nutter to the Middle Eastern Province Polemarch post. During Province Polemarch T. Gillis Nutter's administration, he was bestowed the highest honor within the Fraternity - the Laurel Wreath Award. The Middle Eastern Province, at the time, was comprised of the following chapters: Delta, Zeta, Tau, Cincinnati Alumni, Cleveland Alumni, and Pittsburgh Alumni.


Province Polemarch's Desk

Responsive image

As the 22nd Middle Eastern Province Polemarch, I am especially honored and geared up for leading one of Kappa Alpha Psi's most extraordinary Provinces into the next 100 years of achievement. Under the leadership of our 32nd Grand Polemarch, William "Randy" Bates, Esq., our Province is poised and eager to carry out the national theme of "100 Years and Building: The Journey Continues." Beyond the rich history, the innovative contributions and the individual achievements of various brothers, the true engine that drives the Middle Eastern Province is brotherhood.

"..the Middle Eastern Province is in the business of brotherhood, and brotherhood only..."

[To View the entire Middle Eastern Province Polemarch's message click here]